Jean-Eric Vergne Wins Monaco E-Prix

Tuesday 14th May 2019

DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne wins Monaco E-Prix

Assets in Package
Package Use Summary
Views: 665
Assets Summary
x 1 videos
x 50 images
x 1 documents
Show all assets

Video Asset Data

DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne ended the remarkable streak of different winners in the first eight races of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, to take victory at the Monaco E-Prix and stand atop of the Drivers' Championship.

Starting on pole position, after fastest qualifier Oliver Rowland was issued a three-place grid penalty following an incident last time out in Paris, Frenchman Vergne led the Monaco E-Prix from lights to flag, to become the first driver to win two races this season and end the streak of eight consecutive winners.

Despite the demotion, Nissan e.dams driver Rowland produced a fantastic drive to claim second place ahead of Felipe Massa – the Brazilian holding off a late attack from Pascal Wehrlein to record his first podium finish switching to Formula E in the summer, and a popular result for his Monaco-based Venturi team.

Previous championship leader Robin Frijns and title-chasing Lucas di Grassi both had their races ended by collisions with BMW’s Alex Sims, as Vergne took the Championship lead by five points.

DS Techeetah’s victory extends their lead in the Team’s Championship ahead of the next E-Prix in Berlin in two weeks’ time.

Britain’s Sam Bird suffered heartbreak on the final lap having looked to have produced the drive of the day to rise up from 14th to sixth only to crash on the Rascasse corner of the final lap and suffer his fourth pointless race in a row since topping the Drivers’ Championship.

Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans impressed with a six place finish, having started 13th on the grid following a 10-place penalty for an infringement in qualifying. .



About the ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship is the closest, most intense and progressive category in

motorsport, bringing electrifying racing to the streets against the backdrop of landmarks, skyscrapers and skylines in some of the world’s most famous and recognisable cities - such as Hong Kong, Rome,

Paris and New York.

Formula E enters a new and exciting era in season five with the competitive debut of the next

generation car. The striking new model boasts a distinctive futuristic design and demonstrates a clear

step-up in performance with almost double the energy storage capacity - allowing teams and drivers

to complete a full race distance at higher speeds without needing to swap cars. The Gen2 car is a

testament to the ongoing advancements in battery and electric vehicle technology in the space of only

four years.


The fifth edition of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship will see 11 teams and 22 drivers tackle a

variety of challenging circuits in 12 cities - across five continents - in a bid to be crowned champion.

Formula E will be making its debut in the Middle East on December 15 for the season-opener in Ad

Diriyah, with the championship once again coming to a close in New York City over the course of two

days on July 13 & 14.


Follow Formula E:

Facebook -

Instagram -

Twitter -

YouTube -

@FIAFormulaE #ABBFormulaE

About ABB

ABB (ABBN: SIX Swiss Ex) is a pioneering technology leader in power grids, electrification products,

industrial automation and robotics and motion, serving customers in utilities, industry and transport &

infrastructure globally. Continuing a history of innovation spanning more than 130 years, ABB today is

writing the future of industrial digitalisation with two clear value propositions: bringing electricity from

any power plant to any plug and automating industries from natural resources to finished products. As

title partner of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, the fully-electric international FIA motorsport

class, ABB is pushing the boundaries of e-mobility to contribute to a sustainable future. ABB operates

in more than 100 countries with about 147,000 employees.



Jean-Eric Vergne wins Monaco E-Prix


DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne ended the remarkable streak of different winners in the first eight races of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship

Media Type







File Type


File Size Bytes



Natsot and English commentary



Formula E